Přejít Content | Main menu | Footer

Visa policy

The Czech Republic has been a member of the European Union since 2004. Inhabitants of the EU require passports or other form of valid identification in order to enter the country. The same applies for the citizens of Iceland, Lichtenstein, Norway or Switzerland, who can move freely within the European Union.

Visitors from other countries must have passports valid for at least further six months after the date of arrival and in some cases visa. The list of countries whose citizens require a visa in order to visit the Czech Republic can be found here.

In 2007, the Czech Republic signed the Schengen agreement. Inhabitants of the Schengen countries can move freely within the Schengen area without having to go through border checkpoints. However, they still must have their passports or identification cards with them when travelling.