Přejít Content | Main menu | Footer

Prof. Eva Syková, DrSc., FCMA

Leading Czech scientist, physician, senator PCR and the most-cited Czech scientist. Engaged in research of brain and spinal cord diseases and research of stem cells.


Membership in selected domestic scientific bodies:

  • Government of the Czech Republic – Department of Advisors to the Prime Minister. Advisor for Science, Research and Innovations (since 2014)
  • Research, Developmnent and Innovation Council – first Vice-Chairman of the R&D Council
  • The Senate of the Parliament of the Czech Republic – Vice-Chairperson of Committee on Education, Science, Culture, Human Rights and Petitions
  • Director of The Institute of Experimental Medicine (ASCR) and Chairwoman of Council of the Institute
  • Honorary membership of Czech Medical Society of J.E. Purkyně
  • Honorary membership of Czech Neuroscience Society
  • Learned Society of the Czech Republic
  • Czech Medical Academy (FCMA)

Membership in international organizations:

  • Academia Europaea
  • European DANA Alliance
  • European Academy of Sciences

Notable awards:

  • 2014 Medal of Charles University
  • 2013 Medal of Merit
  • 2012 Manager of the year 2011
  • 2009
    • Best Publication in 2009, Czech Medical Society of J.E. Purkyně
    • Medal of Merit of The Institute of Experimental Medicine (ASCR)
    • Medal of Jan Trapel
  • 2005 Janssen-Cilag Foundation Award
  • 2004 "Lady pro" Award
  • 2003 Purkyně Medal ASCR
  • 1997
    • Janssen-Cilag Foundation Award for the best publication in neurology
    • Prize of Czech ASCR
  • 1994, 1992 Prize of Czech Medical Society of J.E. Purkyně
  • 1993 Prize of Czech Neuroscience Society
  • 1984 Prize of Czechoslovak Physiological Society
  • 1982 Prize of Czechoslovak Academy of Science
  • 1976-78 Awards of Czechoslovak Academy of Sciences

Organization of conferences:

Organizer or co-organizer of 20 international congresses and meetings. Organizer of 5 international teaching workshops for young scientists.